Yippee! My first plugin

5 08 2010

I know it won’t mean much to anybody else but I’m excited.  I have just created my first plugin using some code from the old theme.  It’s an embeddable newsreader so that I can include newsfeeds within pages and posts (articles).

I tend to work by setting a target for the day.  That was today’s target.  Tomorrow’s is to move the hieroglyphs engine into a plugin.  That’s a bit more complicated because there is a lot of complex code.  Don’t get too excited though.  Even when it’s working as a plugin on our site, there is still a lot to do before I would be happy releasing to the world.

Then over the weekend, I’ll move the rest of the core material across so that by the end of Sunday I have migrated the code from the old theme that we need to keep. Next week, we can start moving forwards again.

That’s the plan anyway.  I’ll update on Sunday or  Monday.

Kate

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 08 2010
steve wry

Sounds like a lot of work, but I’m glad your getting it together. Thanks for the hard work. I’m really looking forward to the magazine.

5 08 2010
katephiz

Thanks Steve.

It’s not so much a lot of work as a steep learning curve. We will get there I promise!

5 08 2010
Vincent

Congratulations Kat!

Looking forward to seeing the hieroglyph plugin.

Leave a Reply

