Floating the Idea

3 01 2010

We are Andie Byrnes and Kate Phizackerley, authors of two top blogs about Ancient Egypt.

We believe that many readers would appreciate something more in depth than short news reports and would like to create a free, online magazine about Ancient Egypt.  We will be floating the idea on our blogs in the next couple of days to assess support from readers and potential writers.

If we go ahead, there’s a lot of development needed to build the site.  You will be able to follow progress here.  Once the site is up and running, any site news will be posted here so that we don’t have to slip it into the magazine itself.  Of course, it’s possible we are wrong and there isn’t a demand for a magazine but don’t despair … there is a plan B which would be announced here!

Actions

Information

8 responses

7 01 2010
barnea

sounds great, count me in please

7 01 2010
steve wry

I think you have a great idea, and I wish you all the luck in the world getting it up and running. I am not an author, but I spent the last eight and a half years doing special effects and color correcting for a major publishing company, so if I can be of any help in that area, I’d be happy to lend a hand. I have been interested in and studying Ancient Egypt since I was 5or 6, and have made several trips to Egypt, so I have a general knowledge of the country and it’s colors that might be handy.

Steve Wry

8 01 2010
katephiz

Steve,

If we go ahead, every offer of help is welcome. Although I can write CSS and stumble my way around Photoshop, my designs always look clunky and I struggle to find the best colour combinations. If/when, we get to that stage, somebody who can look at the template and design and suggest alternative to the colour palette, or maybe even do a header for us in Photoship, would be great.

Thanks Kate

8 01 2010
Tom & Ann Hill

As we have visited Egypt for holidays several times and have got “hooked” we would be very interested to read more. We look at your and Andie’s and Jane’s blogs every day and really miss them when there is no news. We hope to visit one of Jane’s flats one of these days. We look forward to hearing of your progress in setting something up. Thanks for all you all do.

8 01 2010
katephiz

Thanks to all for commenting and your kind words. It’s good to know people have found this site too.

Kate

19 01 2010
steve

Thanks Kate, looks like your getting a great response, just let me know if I can help.
Steve

9 04 2010
Elle

This is a great idea. Just wondered if you had considered an on line publisher like http://www.yudu.com, which creates beautiful, magazine style layouts from pdf documents. Its very flexible (custom pdfs are easy to make), searchable, allow enlarging, printing, sharing, and downloading, plus the viewer can add their own notes and bookmarks.

Just thought I would pass this info on to you. Keep up the good work!

14 04 2010
katephiz

Thanks. I’ll discuss Yudu with Andie.
Cheers
Kate

Leave a Reply

